Stalwarts across different specialities are being recognized for their phenomenal contribution to Healthcare
New Delhi, India: The Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (GAPIO) announced winners of the Annual GAPIO Awards to Indian physicians who have made noteworthy contribution in the field of medicine.

The award winners in the Distinguished Category are:

  • Gapio Lifetime Achievement Award

Prof. Dhavendra Kumar, Spire Cardiff Hospital, UK

  • Prathap C Reddy Philanthropy Award

Dr. Rayapu Ramesh Babu, Blood Donors Organization for Social Service, Tirupati

  • IA Modi Award

Prof. Ajay Kumar Duseja, PGIMER, Chandigarh

  • Gapio Surgical Excellence Award

Prof. Devendra Kumar Gupta, AIIMS, New Delhi

  • Gapio Excellence in Diagnostic Award

Prof. Anita Borges, SL Raheja Hospital, Mumbai

  • Gapio Excellence in Radiology/ Radiation Therapy Award

Prof. Akshay Kumar Saxena, PGIMER, Chandigarh

Each winner will be bestowed with a citation, a trophy and a grant of Rs 100,000.

Dr. Naveen Thacker, Deep Children Hospital and Research Centre, Gujarat, Dr. RR Khandelwal, Kingsway Hospital, Nagpur and Dr. Hena Butta, Apollo Hospitals, New Delhi; will be conferred with the GAPIO Special Appreciation Award for their path breaking work.  Each winner will be awarded a citation and a trophy.

The award winners in the Young Category are:

  • IA Modi Award

Dr. Sanjith Saseedharan, SL Raheja Hospital, Mumbai

  • Gapio Surgical Excellence Award

Dr. Saurabh Jain, MGMMC, Indore

  • Gapio Excellence in Diagnostic Award

Dr. Tushar Sehgal, AIIMS, New Delhi

  • Gapio Excellence in Radiology/ Radiation Therapy Award

Dr. Chandrashekhara S H, AIIMS, New Delhi

Each winner will be bestowed with a citation, a trophy and a grant of Rs 50,000.

The awards will be presented at function scheduled to be held at 7:00 PM IST on 11th February 2023 during XIII Annual Conference of GAPIO, Gandhinagar.

Hon’ble Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya, the Union Minister for Health & Family Welfare and Chemicals and Fertilizers of the Government of India will be the Chief Guest and Shri Bhupendrabhai Patel, the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Gujarat will be the Guest of Honor.

Dr. Prathap C Reddy, Founder President of GAPIO and Chairman Apollo Hospitals Group said “The spirit of the physicians of Indian origin to excel in India and overseas is what we are striving to recognize. Their laudable efforts and path breaking work across the globe has made every Indian proud. The awardees’ exemplary work is an inspiration for others to emulate”.

Dr. Anupam Sibal, the President of GAPIO and Group Medical Director, Apollo Hospitals Group and Senior Consultant Pediatric Gastroenterologist and Hepatologist said “The awardees through their enormous contribution in different medical and surgical specialties exemplify the highest standards that Indian physicians have become synonymous with”.

Dr. Nandakumar Jairam, Vice President GAPIO stated, “The Young Category awardees represent the ambition and aspirations of the Young Indian Physicians who are willing to take on challenges to improve delivery of care, while excelling in Research and Academics.”

 Dr. Sudhir Parikh, Secretary General of GAPIO and Chairman and Publisher of Parikh World Wide Media and ITV Gold 24×7 TV Channel in USA commented, “With our presence among 57 countries, GAPIO is committed to its vision of Improving Health Worldwide. GAPIO serves to establish collaborations, bringing 1.4 million physicians of Indian origin under one umbrella platform. In the coming year, our activities will be enhanced to build a stronger well connected physician community.”

For Details:

Please visit:

  • Mr. Jitendra Malik- Conference Secretariat (; +91 85278 49960)
  • Mr. Shahid Parvez- Marketing Head, Apollo International Hospital, Ahmedabad (; +91 76988 15004)
  • Dr. Sushil Jain- Hon. Advisor GAPIO, Medical Superintendent, Apollo Hospitals, Indore (; +91 8109216700)



Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (GAPIO) is a non-profit organization established in 2011 by Padma Vibhushan, Dr. Prathap C Reddy, Chairman of Apollo Hospitals Group. He is the Founder President of GAPIO along with Dr. Sanku Rao – Past President of AAPI, USA and Dr. Ramesh Mehta – President of BAPIO, UK with the aim to bring together 1.4 million physicians of Indian origin across the world under one professional platform.  GAPIO currently is imparting services in 57 countries. The members of GAPIO belong to various medical specialties and super specialties which comprises several Padma awardees, twenty awardees of Dr. B C Roy as well as several recipients of National and International awards.  Dr. Anupam Sibal is the current President of GAPIO.